What’s Up Wednesday – April 30

Hello, all! I hope you week since the last WUW has been fantastic. Can you believe it’s already the end of April? IT’S GONNA BE MAY. *insert N*Sync gif here* *I’m not sure how to get gifs to work in blog posts, so I’m not going to insert one today.*

WHAT I’M READING:

I just finished Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL this morning, and I basically exploded all over my keyboard when emailing my CP about it, haha. It’s really good! I’m not going to spoil it for anyone, but it was definitely an interesting read. There were points when it made me extremely uncomfortable because… well, like I said, no spoilers. But just… AHHH.

I was reading the book as an ebook borrowed from my library (borrowing ebooks, by the way? SO COOL), but there was a point last night when, 85% of the way into the book, the app I was reading through suddenly couldn’t connect to the servers. And then the app crashed. And it did that every time I opened the app. And did I mention I was EIGHTY-FIVE PERCENT done with the book?

So yeah. That was pretty torturous. The app got working again this morning, and I finished the book from the comfort of my bed. Sigh.

I’ll likely read Marie Lu’s PRODIGY next, the next book in the LEGEND trilogy, since I also borrowed that on ebook, and it has a shorter check-out time for some reason (two weeks instead of three). I’ll also be trying to finish the other library books that I’ve had for like two months, thanks to renewals. Here’s a promise to myself: no borrowing new books until I finish the ones I have. Also, no more renewing.

WHAT I’M WRITING:

Still working on the revisions I started last week. Nothing much on this front that is of interest, haha. I guess that’s chalked up more to the fact that I’m relatively private about my writing than about my reading… but yes. Revisions. Rereading. Critiquing. All that fun stuff. :)

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW:

Reading a lot–and this week, GONE GIRL especially, has made me look even more closely at character motivations, which I’m currently weaving in more for secondary characters in my revisions. People are very interesting and strange, but there is an element of truth in the fact that truth is stranger than fiction. In stories, everything has to make sense to some extent. It gives you a lot to think about.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

The usual. My friends with whom I started the crafting day the other week (the oobies, remember?) have decided to basically make a club out of it, featuring us three, and possibly a couple more people when summer comes around. Planning that has been ridiculously fun, so hopefully that continues!

How has everyone else’s week been?

Check out this week’s WUW posts here.

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday – April 30

  1. Miss Cole

    Gone Girl is AMAZING, isn’t it? I know exactly how you feel about not wanting to spoil anyone. There’s just *that* twist, you know, and the whole thing makes you go “WHAAAAAAAT?!?!?!” O_O Genius writing. I read Sharp Objects this week. Also amazing.

    Have a great week!

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      It IS. I really, really enjoyed it. I’ll have to check out more of Gillian Flynn’s work!

      Thanks! You, too :)

      Reply
  2. Melanie Stanford

    I need to add more layers with my secondary characters as well. I always seem to have a problem with them being a little too one-dimensional. Something I have to work on.
    I’ll get nothing from the library and then like 5 books at once. It always seems to happen that way!

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      I lovelove adding layers to secondary characters especially–they can seriously be such blank slates! Since they’re not the protags, a lot is left off the page, but I feel like that almost gives me more room to make them more interesting in my head, which I hope comes across in my writing. I find it easier to round out characters when I think about their motivations for saying and doing things. Other than being the voice of reason/chaos, why would they have that kind of worldview? That kind of thing :)

      Oh man. After I reactivated my library card, I’ve been buried in books. But they’re so tempting! So! Tempting!

      Reply
  3. Victoria Davenport

    I’ve heard so much about Gone Girl! It’s been on my TBR read for a long time…I need to finally pick it up. Also have been wanting to read the Legend series, another one that’s been suggested a dozen times and on my TBR. I totally understand your revisions, rereading, critiquing–that’s the point I’m at right now. But it’s all worth it!
    Have a great week!

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      You should definitely read both–I highly recommend them. Though I guess that’s obvious from my blog posts ;) GONE GIRL is fairly massive (over 450 pages), but once you get into it, it’s a fast read. Yay for thrillers!

      Good luck with all the revisions, rereading, and critiquing! Goodness knows we all need it. :) I hope you have a great week, too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

