What’s Up Wednesday – April 23

Another week, another WUW post. Let’s get right to it!

WUW1

WHAT I’M READING:

Please excuse me while I remove the foot in my mouth to say that I loved LEGEND by Marie Lu, and that I am slightly more open to the dystopian train. To be honest, somehow, LEGEND felt more like a fantasy to me than a dystopian. It totally isn’t fantasy, though, so I’m not sure where that feeling came from. The world building was solid, and I think that helped submerge me into the story.

Many of the emotions and circumstances within the story seemed much more visceral than some of what I’ve been reading lately, and it helped pull in my reader mind a lot more than it engaged my writer mind–which is a good thing, as it means I am unconsciously thinking more as a reader who enjoys the story, instead of as a writer who picks up things that could be written better. Thinking about it, I feel like my immersion has to do with the characters’ roles within the world, as both are (sort of) in positions of power in their social classes. Lu also created a world that I feel like is a lot closer to ours than other dystopians I’ve read, at least when it comes to the concept of free will. Even if the government could be in control, many of the actions of the citizenry can be classified as being in their hands, rather than being dictated by rules and the like.

I’d definitely recommend this to anyone. It’s a really great book. I borrowed my copy from the library, but I’ll be adding it to my collection the next time I go to a book store.

WHAT I’M WRITING:

I’m working on revisions for one of my stories, and starting to plan another one. Because the other book I was planning for the last couple weeks is a sequel, I’m still on the fence about actually writing it. It could just turn into one of those projects that I turn to when I need a break from what I’m working on at a particular time. But still… more writing! Pushing on!

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW:

Reading books like LEGEND is definitely up there. Also: video game lore.

I started playing World of Warcraft back in November, and it seriously amazed me how much lore there is within the world. Though I haven’t been playing as much for the last couple weeks, all the storytelling still fascinates me. WoW has been around for years and years, and people don’t pay as much attention to the world as they used to before the expansions, but if you take it slow–and with all the WoW expansions, you’d be playing the game really slowly if you want to get all the lore–the game is really built around an entire story that encompasses years and worlds. It’s seriously amazing how much work goes into just the storyline, and kind of saddening in a way that so many players grind through all the story to gain levels and items–which is fun, but it kind of seems like a waste of the story.

However, there are books and things published about the WoW world, and some YouTube people have compiled video playlists that go through the world and explain the lore, so it’s not like the story is lost on those who grind through the game. I still don’t know most of it, and it almost makes me wish that I’d played with years and years ago, when it was still “vanilla”–basically WoW version 1.0, without all the extra expansions. Back then, everyone was in it for the story as well as the gameplay. It would have been fun to get a better understanding of the world from the beginning, and even more enjoyable to do it in the company of everyone else discovering the game for the first time.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

I’ve been consistent with my exercising for the past week, which is fantastic! *flexes muscles* *deflates* (I don’t have flex-able muscles.) I’ve also been watching anime, sewing Oobies (little plush monster things), and avoiding cleaning my room. The Oobies are especially fun–my friend and I are planning to make an entire army of Oobies in different costumes. The first one I made is wearing a haz mat suit with a green visor. It is super cute.

Oobie Haz Mat

I mean really.

Check out other What’s Up Wednesday posts here. If you’re interested in my outlining/writing prep process, take a gander at my post that compares outlines to ghost hearts. Ghost hearts are seriously awesome.

Have a great week, everyone!

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday – April 23

  1. Miss Cole

    Best of luck with all the revisions and planning :D Sounds exciting!

    Aaaw, cute Oobie! I wish I had more sewing skills but I reaaaaaally don’t.

    Have a lovely week!

    Reply
  2. Jaime Morrow

    I definitely have to agree with you on LEGEND. I read it *way* back when it first came out and then reread it recently. I was very impressed with the way she managed to write two different POVs and have them stand out so distinctly from one another, even aside from the different fonts and font colours. I would recommend her books to anyone, that’s for sure.

    I’ve never played WoW, but my husband has always been really big into it. I’m impressed with the world they’ve so expertly created. I can’t even imagine the work that goes into something like that! Love the Oobies! Super cute. I like fun stuff that feels different than everything else out there. Hope you’re having an awesome week, Kristine!

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      Oh yeah, Marie Lu was phenomenal with the characters’ voice. Instant recommend for sure.

      I hope you’re having a great week as well, Jaime! Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  3. Laura W.

    Gaming is really fun and is good practice for worldbuilding, storybuilding, character building, you name it! I have only ever WOW’d on my friend’s boyfriend’s account, from which I was quickly evicted since I just kept jumping off of things and having way too much fun.
    I really need to check out more dystopian. I’ll put LEGEND in the back of my mind for when I need something to read. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      Hahahhahaa I love that you kept jumping off things. It’s so fun even just to run around as the character.

      And definitely check out LEGEND. Now that the whole trilogy is out (I was really late to the LEGEND game, apparently), you can enjoy it in one fell swoop!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

