What’s Up Wednesday – April 16

I’m late today! So we’re jumping right in:

WHAT I’M READING:

I just got back from the library to turn in my copy of MATCHED by Ally Condie (which I borrowed from the library… yesterday). Suffice to say that I enjoyed the read. I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite read, since I, like a lot of people nowadays, have gotten a little tired of dystopian, if only because they come with many similar themes (most often the horrifying notion that not everything in the characters’ lives is under their control), and pretty much always lead to rebellion. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing… but it does start to feel like you’re reading the same thing over and over, despite the beautiful, diverse, and feel-inducing situations of each book. Maybe I would feel differently if it had been a while since I read/watched my last dystopian. (Looks at DIVERGENT, THE HUNGER GAMES.)

I’ll probably be totally throwing away that whole last paragraph by admitting that after I returned MATCHED, I checked out LEGEND by Marie Lu. Sue me.

WHAT I’M WRITING:

I’m currently planning out my next book! Hoorayyyyyy! I am totally an outliner, no question about it, and I love this part of the process. What I like about the planning stage is that I have the freedom of discovering my world right away. There are some writers who love the joy of discovery while writing first, and I love that, too… but somehow, knowing some of what’s coming and exactly what I have to look forward to helps keep me going, and keeps me excited about my projects. It also helps me write scenes with much more impact from the get-go, and I can be more precise about how much emotion should be shown in a particular scene, and just how much of a future plot point I can give away/foreshadow in an earlier bit.

I don’t outline chapter by chapter, but I do work with a synopsis and the bones of the work. I saw a post on Tumblr the other day with the picture of a heart that is translucent white–it was a whole heart, but all of the blood had been–actually, I’m going to stop talking about this here and start drafting a post about outlining. I hold you in suspense! *clings*

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW:

If you can find it, check out Delicate by Kina Grannis. (Music). There’s also another song of hers, but it won’t be officially released until May 6. I’ll probably write up a whole post about Kina someday.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

Basically I’ve just been doing a lot of reading and some writing. Attending baseball games, though I won’t be going to another one for another month. (GO MARINERS! Hometown pride! I hope they actually do well this year!) (cough) Not much else. I should really do some cleaning…

Anyway.

I hope you’ve all been well! If you want to leave a comment, I’d love to hear about some of your favorite recent reads, and whether you have any book recommendations for me–any genre. If you haven’t read them, here are books I recommended to my friend just today:

– CODE NAME VERITY by Elizabeth Wein (YA historical; very good and feel-inducing)
– ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins (YA contemporary romance. Lovelovelove. It was published in 2010, so if you haven’t read it, get on that!)
– ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell (YA contemporary set in the 80s. Amazing.)
– GRACELING by Kristin Cashore (YA fantasy. Fantastic. And not just because it’s fantasy.)

Pretty much all of these have already been published for a while, which is all the more reason to check them out. Maybe you won’t even have to wait on the holds list at your library when you put in a request! Oh man. I love libraries.

As always, check out the other WUW posts HERE.

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday – April 16

  1. Miss Cole

    I’ve definitely had to stop reading dystopians. The last one I attempted was a DNF. There are a few left in my TBR pile, but I’m going to leave them for a while longer.

    Good luck with the book planning! I’m a total pantser, so it always fascinates me how people outline.

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      Thanks! I’ve tried pantsing before, but all I end up with is a jumbled mess of characters running off in different directions. ;) It’s so hard for me to keep track of them all. I’m equally fascinated by those who can pull it off.

      Reply
  2. Tonja Drecker

    I loved GRACELING. But lately, I’m having a hard time getting away from dystopians. You’d think one would grow tired of them after a while – not yet :)
    I totally understand your plotting excitement. It’s one of my favorite parts of writing! Have fun with it.

    Reply
    1. Kristine Post author

      Oh yeah, GRACELING is so great. I’m rereading it now, on top of the other books I have. But after LEGEND, I’ll probably take a break from dystopian. I’m glad you’re still enjoying them! Reading is so great.

      Plotting is definitely one of the best parts for me–there’s just so much to learn. Thanks :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

