What’s Up Wednesday – April 9

It’s been another week! (And I totally didn’t post on Monday like I said I would. Sadface.) This week I’ll just jump right in.

WHAT I’M READING:

I finished THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN (Holly Black) and THE ARCHIVE (Victoria Schwab) in the past week! They were both splendid reads, and I recommend them if you like your fantasy with a little grit, a little gloom, and a lot of wonderful.

I wasn’t expecting to like COLDEST as much as I thought I would because I’m not a huge vampire person, as I shared last week. But really, for this book, it was easy to go with the vampirisms. They’re not overt, they don’t romanticize being a vampire (or not being a vampire!), and it’s a good read overall. My thoughts align pretty exactly with Veronica Roth’s on this book, so rather than rehash all that, check out her review here.

As for THE ARCHIVE, I went in knowing I’d like it. I’m a fan of Schwab’s work (and I’m a fan of Black’s, too, for that matter), but check out the hook: Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books. I mean… YES times a million. It’s definitely a great read, and very twisty, which I loved.

Next up are my books on villainy (hehehe) and the assorted books I’ve accumulated on my Kindle app. That is, as long as I can restrain my fingers, which love placing holds on library books.

WHAT I’M WRITING:

I’m still working on the same story I was working on last week, but I’ve added on 3ishK in the last week! Not a ton, by any means, but still. More words!

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW:

Nice weather. Rainy weather. Windy weather. Weather. Our world is so cool.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO:

I received my SCBWI packet in the mail the other day, so I’ve been poring over The Book that came with it, basically just exploring anything I can get my hands on. I’ve also started exercising again, which is something I sorely needed (keyword here being “sore”), and I’m working on making exercise part of routine. Because if you’re sitting at a desk all day writing words, you need something to make sure your body doesn’t deflate due to lack of muscle.

I hope everyone else’s week has been great! Check out other WUWs at Jaime Morrow’s or Erin Funk’s blog.

4 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday – April 9

  1. Jaime Morrow

    More words = always something to be happy (and proud) about. All of it moves you forward, so that’s a good thing. At least that’s what I’m telling myself in my super slow revisions. ;-)

    I really need to read THE ARCHIVED and THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN. I had a copy of the latter in my hand at Target the other day and then cheaped out. (Cover price where I live is pretty darn expensive.) If I don’t buy it, I’ll definitely take it out of the library. I could use something different. :-)

    Reply
  2. marikaautrand

    After the crazy winter and ridiculous amount of snow we had here, I vowed not to complain about rain this spring . . . and I’m actually totally in love with rainy days now.

    And, exercising, yay! I was in an awesome routine for like a second, and I need to get back into it.

    Reply
  3. Kitty

    Sadly, I just couldn’t get into COLDEST GIRL IN COLD TOWN and I really like Holly Black and her other books. Maybe I was just not in the right mood at the time. I’ll have to try it again some time! Congrats on the 3k last week – any and all words are good! Have a great weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

