Twenty-one

21 is as good an age as any to start a tradition, isn’t it? Instead of New Year’s resolutions, I decided on a whim that I would have goals for birthdays. Just because.

And goals are good things to have. It means you want to get somewhere :)

Writing goals:

  1. Complete a manuscript (first draft, edits, CP edits, crying, more drafts, more edits, “final” draft–at least as final as I can get it without a professional)
  2. Start querying.
  3. Write the first draft of another manuscript.
  4. MSFV’s Baker’s Dozen Auction at the end of the year.
  5. NaNoWriMo and win! (Or one of the Camp NaNos, if November turns out to be crazypants, which it usually does.
  6. Go to at least two book signings.
  7. Read at least 15 books.

Personal goals:

  1. Blog at least once a week.
  2. Find a(n alcoholic) drink that I actually like. Tried beer, didn’t like it (though I’m guessing it’s something I’ll get used to… and, yes, I never had beer until my birthday celebrations. I don’t know why). Tried wine, and I like it better than beer, but still meh. Haven’t really had much else.
  3. Graduate! (Not exactly a goal since it has a 99.999999% chance of happening, but that’s okay!)
  4. Keep in touch with friends even after graduating.
  5. Run 5k in under 35 30 minutes. (Backstory: I joined cross country in my senior year of high school, and I was literally the slowest person on the team. Which isn’t a bad thing, but you know. “Literally the slowest person” doesn’t really count for much.) (Note from 6/10/13: When I shared my 35 minute goal more than one person has chuckled at me so FINE I have revised it to be a 30 minute goal. Gosh.)
  6. If I don’t want to eat anything in particular: SALAD.
  7. Donate at least $50 to charity.
  8. Catch ’em all in Pokemon Soul Silver because I like that game a lot.

I was going to do 21 goals, but I can’t think of more right now. So we shall stick to 15.

Leave a Reply

