Madness!

I am about to have a very busy few days. (Actually, the busy-ness already started, so it’s more like, “I am in the midst of having a very busy few days.”)

So, it’s my birthday tomorrow (Monday), and I am meeting with friends and family for it for FOUR DAYS in a row. I mean, it’s just dinner and things, but it’s literally the most I’ve ever had planned for my birthday. The last time I had a birthday celebration with people other than my family and my boyfriend was… before college?

Yeah. And I’m graduating in December.

But I am going to stop talking about that because I don’t want this to become a blog post about me-birthday-me. I just wanted you all to know how very whelmed* I’m going to be this week with meeting with people/school/writing/life.

Writing with a full schedule is hard. Now, I’m sure that plenty of people have it harder than me, but on top of being a full-time student, working 20 hours a week, being in a long-term relationship, and trying (sort of) to have a life, I like to tell myself that I have it tough. Setting aside time to write, especially when I’m unpublished, unagented, and without a deadline, seems like I’m pushing aside things that I have to do for something I merely want to do. And as someone who enjoys organizing things, it’s all very difficult and headache-inducing.

But you know what? I have to do it. If I don’t find time to write now, I’ll have to find time to write when I’m working full time. Or I’ll have to find time to write when, in the future, I’m driving kids to and from school, or when I’m on a plane, or in between rewatches of every single Vlogbrothers video ever made. The thing is, no matter what you’re doing, you’re always going to have to find time to write. No matter what. There’s no other way to spin it.

So how do I do it? Well, this quarter my classes don’t start until 1:30 in the afternoon. I work on Tuesdays and Thursdays. But on Mondays and Wednesdays, you can believe that I have 2 hours of time set aside just for staring at my WIP. On Friday afternoons I have it open on my iPad. In fact, my Scrivener document for this baby is currently open in another window, waiting for me. Lurking until I switch over to that window and stare at it some more.

No guarantees I’ll actually be working on it, though. What kind of 20-year-old do you think I am?

Attention spans, man. They’ll get you.

*Whelmed: “I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?” “I think you can in Europe!” (Chastity and Bianca, 10 Things I Hate About You)

Leave a Reply

